National Rose Month

Early on in June, The Daily Cupcake is giving plenty of notice: June is a month to enjoy roses.

Stop and smell them.  Better yet, plant them, then (kindly) stop others and insist they smell them.  Nevermind.  Any way my imagination plays out the scenario, the neighbors are unhappy.  Happy blog.  Happy place.

Moving on.  Evidently, we have Marco Polo and his fellow Asiatic explorers to thank for the hybrid, burbon, tea selections, etc. Joseph's Coat since the more glamorous roses come from Asia and India (or is India considered part of Asia?).  Then in the early 1800s, French Empress Josephine was an influential patroness of the flower, championing their collection and breeding.

And from there things have spun way out of control.

Juliet

That’s the only explanation as to why in 2006, the Chelsea Garden Club proudly announced the most expensive rose ever to be developed, costing a whopping $5.54 million USD and 14 years of development.

Simply called ‘Juliet’, it doesn’t appear any more elite than what could be found in a local nursery.  Obviously, I don’t know my roses.  But with a labryinth of names and varieties, who wouldn’t be clueless?

Claude Monet

Which begs another question, what does a girl have to do to have a rose named after her?  (Please, consider the question rhetorical.)  I had thought it would be cool to have a rose named after me until I read a quote by Eleanor Roosevelt and changed my mind:

“I once had a rose named after me and I was very flattered.  But I was not pleased to read the description in the catalogue: no good in a bed, but fine up against a wall.”

Ha!

2 thoughts on “National Rose Month

  1. Go, Eleanor! I had no idea she was so scandalous! 🙂 I love the rose and enjoy smelling them. A special shout out to the purples–they’re my favs!

  2. I love roses. I love the fragrance and the look of them. But most of all I love their names. How can you not love names like Scentimental, Moonstone, Sunset Sprinkles, Flutterbye, Weight Watcher’s Success, Miss Behavior or Brigadoon? Or be impressed by the diversity of those who have roses named for them such as Betty Boop, Barbara Bush, Chris Evert, Jude the Obscure, Pinocchio, Toulouse Lautrec, Minnie Pearl, Ingrid Bergman, Leonidas, Mr. Lincoln or The Nun?

Leave a Reply

