Egg Month

Eggs!  You’re egg-static, right? 

May just happens to be Egg Month.  Why, I cannot say.  It seems April, with its Easter holiday, would be more apropos, but no.  Maybe after torturing eggs in vats of colored chemicals in April, May attempts to remind us of the beauty of a simple egg.  Or, maybe hens like May best.  Who knows?

I am a fan of the egg.  To take time in the morning to make a scrambled egg, toast, and coffee feels luxuriously lazy . . . and tastes yummy.  How nice that a food I enjoy is actually (shocker!) good for me. 

According to the ENC (Egg Nutrition Center), a large egg provides 6 grams of protein, and not just any protein. “The highest quality protein in the food supply”, with a 97% digestibility rate and the “amino acid pattern almost matching the human requirement for essential amino acids.”

The egg is delicious, nutritious, and (most importantly) affordable.  It’s also adaptable.  The Incredible Edible Egg offers oodles of recipes.   

Still think the egg is rather boring?  Take a look at how Japanese parents make sure the hard boiled egg, a staple in Japanese lunch boxes (or bento boxes), appeals to kids. 

Then there are frying pans shapers for the morning’s fried egg.

And  in your spare time, you could create a masterpiece from the part you don’t eat.  Ha!

Beyond that, I promise you will never meet a more metaphorical breakfast food.  Egg-head, ‘egg on your face’, ‘good egg’, ‘nest egg’, ‘walk on egg shells’, and ‘put all your eggs in one basket’ are a few of the eggs-pressions we use, as well as these classic philosophical gems:

“Although I cannot lay an egg, I am a very good judge of omelettes”  –George Bernard Shaw

“It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for it to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad.”  –C.S. Lewis

“Remember, people will judge you by your actions, not your intentions. You may have a heart of gold — but so does a hard-boiled egg.”  –Bernard Meltzer

“The present is an egg laid by the past that has the future inside its shell.”  –Zora Neale Hurston

“What is my loftiest ambition? I’ve always wanted to throw an egg at an electric fan.”  –Oliver Herford

“An Egg to day is better than a Hen to-morrow.”  –Benjamin Franklin

3 thoughts on “Egg Month

  1. I have read only a couple of your blog entries, but I like what I have read. Way to go! I see you have chosen your blog-name…dailybaker. It’s not quite Andromeda Calhoun, but I like it. LOL Love the egg entry today! I read Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein last year (actually listened to it on my iPod). The guy from Mars continually uses the phrase, “I am just an egg.” I liked it. I took it as my own and use it whenever I am clearly out of my element (which is often) and know little to nothing about the topic at hand. Your blog post reminded me of this. 🙂 I hope to find some time to go back and read your previous posts. Sounds like a great summer project, huh?

    Congrats and good luck on your blogging! I’ll be reading.

    Jo Beth

  2. I love Easter – mostly for what you can do with the egg. I like the decorative sugar eggs (with clear glitter and tissue paper)and deviled eggs (yum). My fam loves the shaped egg!!!! Maybe I see collecting of eggs in my future :). This is the best day ever!

Leave a Reply

